It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Lung & Respiratory Disorders / COPD Message Board

• CHRONIC PAIN FOLLOWING LUNG REDUCTION SURGERY

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 03-08-2003, 12:43 PM   #1
    Val-ellie

Val-ellie HB User
    Unhappy CHRONIC PAIN FOLLOWING LUNG REDUCTION SURGERY

Can anyone relate or understand what I am experiencing?

In November last year I was admitted into hospital for lung reduction surgery (VATS), as a consequence of having a massive bulla in my left lung (cause unknown but assumed by doctors that I was born with this abnormality which subsequently grew with me).
    Since being discharged from hospital I have experienced unbearable pain & discomfort on a daily basis. I have a degree of numbness also around the incision area which comes around the front of my body and effects the left side of my body. The internal pain is two fold, a) an unbearable weighted, heavy swollen feeling to my side & front which makes every day activities difficult, and b) something that i can only describe as `rib' pain, which feels as if a pressure from within me pressing my internal organs into my rib cage thus creating internal & external pain & tenderness. I also experience spasmodic `stabbing' type pains.

When the pain is at it's worst I find it difficult to do anything very strenuous & feel myself sinking into a depression not knowing what the future may hold. I am currently having Intervertebral Nerve Block treatment on a weekly basis (4 weeks in total), but this has not really alleviated the pain for more than a few hours at a time.

Please can anyone advise or help me.
    What is the nature/cause of my `unrelenting' pain?
    will it improve with time?
    is there any cure?
    could this post surgery problem have been avoided?

I look forward to any responses that you may be able to offer.

Regards
    Val Noton

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 03-09-2003, 11:31 AM   #2
    wrin