It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Lupus Message Board

Lupus diagnosis? Positive ANA & Anti-DsDNA then negative ANA retest?

Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-30-2017, 09:12 PM   #1
secondnd
(female)

secondnd HB User
Lupus diagnosis? Positive ANA & Anti-DsDNA then negative ANA retest?

I'm new to the whole lupus/MCTD thing, but I recently had a ANA panel done with ELISA and all of that and I tested positive for ANA & Anti-DsDNA, as well as extremely low vitamin d, low red blood cells, low hemoglobin, & elevated platelets. My doctor really suspects of me having lupus because of all of my symptoms and I have at least 7/11 of the diagnosis criteria, but she doesn't want to prescribe me anything until my rheumatologist formally diagnoses me. My rheumy appt isn't until April of next year so I'm miserable & just want to feel better. I've been sick for over six years now and nobody ever even thought of testing me for lupus until my new primary care dr, so I'm very grateful for her.

I just had a ANA retest to check my titer and apparently it came back negative this time, so I'm confused. My doctor still definitely suspects of me having it and says this can happen, but I just wanted to know opinions. Thank you all in advance!

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 10-31-2017, 04:48 AM   #2
ladybud
Senior Veteran
(female)

ladybud HB Userladybud HB Userladybud HB Userladybud HB Userladybud HB Userladybud HB Userladybud HB Userladybud HB Userladybud HB Userladybud HB Userladybud HB User
Re: Lupus diagnosis? Positive ANA & Anti-DsDNA then negative ANA retest?

Quote:
Originally Posted by secondnd View Post