It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Lupus Message Board

• Do you think I have Lupus? My parents think I overreact

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 08-10-2011, 05:40 PM   #1
    mparoca
    (female)

mparoca HB User
    Unhappy Do you think I have Lupus? My parents think I overreact

Hey,

I'm a 22 year old female. I've been having strange symptoms and malaise for about 3 or 4 years now but the people I tell, including my parents, seem to think I'm a hypochondriac and won't pay any attention. I took an ANA test on january and it came back positive but the doctor said it was a low mark, that it might be a mistaken result and was not significant enough to make any diagnosis, since the rest of my bloodwork came back normal.

The first symptom I developed was extreme fatigue. Couldn't get out of bed, and no matter how much I slept I still felt week and tired. Since i'm a college student, my marks dropped significantly because I was not able to get out of bed to go to the classes (even though I do love school). I went to the doctor and he said I should see a psychiatrist and he diagnosed clinical depression for which I was in antidepressants, but they didn't seem to work at all.

At this point I decided to stop taking that crap and stop seeing the psychiatrist and began self medicating. I found Strattera, which is a little similar to ritalin and it helped me get out of bed and concentrate but the effect wore off over time so right now i'm on provigil. When I don't take it I can't get out of bed, but when I do I function normally.

The second symptom is that my knees, wrists and elbows ache really bad sometimes, the pain is kind of what growing pains felt like. It comes and goes, and it worsens on cold days.

Third symptom is a rash on my face. It gets worse when I'm stressed out. It's mostly on my cheeks and nose but it doesn't connect, like it would in a malar rash. It seems separate.