It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Menopause Message Board

• Help! Think it m/pause but dr. says depression

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 04-03-2004, 10:07 AM   #1
    girlgato
    (female)

girlgato HB Usergirlgato HB User
    Help! Think it m/pause but dr. says depression

I am new to this part of the board and have been suffering with what I think is perimenopause but my doctor is saying otherwise. Have been reading on the subject and have some of the symptoms. Here's what's been going on.......

Am 46 yrs. old. Been having night sweats now for about 4 years. Hot flashes have just started over the last few months. Periods are now short (2-3 days) and are coming every 3 weeks. Very very weepy these days. The slightest little thing whether something good or sad, sets me off on a crying spell. I've got this tight feeling in my throat that eventually leaves me in a gagging fit. My nights are restless sleeps. DON'T I SOUND LIKE A MESS???

Ladies, I'm just so frustrated right now....oh, no, here come the tears again.
    Been going to the doctor and he's put me on antidepressants and valium for the anxiety. I've tried to explain that I think its more....but, he says, you're too young. Yesterday went for my physical, and the dr. says, "well maybe a bit of perimenop. and depression". Says to UP my medication dosage even though my reactions have been awful on it (been on tricyclic for one month) and feel weak, dizzy.....and, most of all, it has done NOTHING for me.

Please, please, any thoughts on this will be appreciated. Have just made an appt. to see a naturopathic doctor in 3 wks. In the meantime, the days are just SOOOO long and a struggle to get thru (I also work full time). My poor hubby has been very supportive, but I feel so bad that he has to see me like this - such a different person that I used to be.