It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Menopause Message Board

• Menopause and High Blood Pressure

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 06-28-2005, 11:14 AM   #1
    49 and Holding
    (female)

49 and Holding HB User
    Menopause and High Blood Pressure

Hi, this is my first time posting so I hope I get this right. I wanted to find out what others had to say on menopause and high blood pressure. I was diagnosed with HBP at age 38 (am 49 now). At that time I was not overweight (even the dr commented on that), don't drink, no family history, etc, no reason for it that he could find. Also that time I had no problems with eating what I wanted to. In fact, I was never a heavy eater. The HBP has always been difficult to control. At present I am on HCT, Benicar, Toprol XL, and Verapril (highest dosage possible once a day). In the last 5 years, the weight has added up to 60 more pounds. I cannot get it off. I tried Weight Watchers for 4 months counting points, not a pound. I also tried Adkins for 4 months, not a pound. I tried drinking all that water which combined with theometimes HCT only sent me to the bathroom every 15 minutes. (My husband did Adkins for 3 months and lost 45-50 pounds a year ago and has kept it off--lucky stiff). I still don't eat like I used to. Gave up the baked potatoes, hamburgers, pasta, whole milk, bread, mexican food, etc). Also I was walking two miles a day. No history of HBP in my family at the time I was diagnosed. Since then my younger brother was diagnosed at his age of 42. His dr put him on BP meds and he gained 10 pounds in one month. My younger sister is not on BP meds at her age of 46 and no weight problem. Due to the HBP, I also don't eat salty foods if I can avoid it. Now to the menopause questions. I started through the change about 43. I haven't had a period for about 3 years (which I don't miss in the least). I never had hot flashes until after my periods comple