It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Menopause Message Board

• endometrial biopsy needed?

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 06-15-2007, 11:30 PM   #1
    mamabear123x
    (female)

mamabear123x HB User
    endometrial biopsy needed?

I just went to the doctor because my periods are every 21 days. I'm 43. The doctor said I need to get an endometrial biopsy before she tests my hormones. I was kind of surprised. I just thought it was pre-menopausal hormone issues. Should I get a second opinion before I do this?

Last edited by mod-anon; 06-15-2007 at 11:40 PM. Reason: starting a new thread with this post.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 06-16-2007, 03:32 AM   #2
    korgiee
    Inactive
    (female)

korgiee HB User
    Re: endometrial biopsy needed?

I would definitely get another opinion. That sounds like something to do after everything else has been ruled out. I am not a doctor but it sounds like a perimenopause symptom to me. I had that for about 6 months before i went back to a more normal cycle and when I did my periods were quite heavy. So there really is no normal when your body starts to change. Please get another opinion before you jump into that. Alyce

Old 06-18-2007, 03:08 PM   #3
    colleen617
    (female)

colleen617 HB User

Quote:
    Originally Posted by mamabear123x View Post
    I just went to the doctor because my periods are every 21 days. I'm 43. The doctor said I need to get an endometrial biopsy before she tests my hormones. I was kind of surprised. I just thought it was pre-menopausal hormone issues. Should I get a second opinion before I do this?
    I surprised that she didn't have you get a transvaginal ultrasound to see thickness of lining. Usually if it is >5mm, then they do endometrial biopsy.

I'd ask her why she wants to do endometrial biopsy (what is she checking?)

Old 06-19-2007, 07:07 AM   #4
    marymk
    Veteran
    (female)

marymk HB User

Hi,