It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Menopause Message Board

• early menopause and migraines

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 01-07-2014, 09:04 AM   #1
    agirlandherdogs
    (female)

agirlandherdogs HB User
    early menopause and migraines

Hi Everyone. I have a million questions regarding menopause treatments and what everyone has experienced. I have been battling symptoms for about three years, I will be 39 in a few weeks. I never had PMS with my period. Luckily when I started getting strange symptoms I had a new NP that set me up with testing right away and noticed things were off. We started with different treatments and since this menopause crap all started I also get side effects to medications like crazy. I never used to get that either. But that's another story. I am currently using the NuvaRing to create a more constant level of estrogen, and please forgive me if I'm relaying information wrong the memory is shot too! This is because 1) I was basically in a constant hot flash and 2) having horrible migraines. Well, the intensity of the migraines has gone down, but the frequency of headaches hasn't. I still get a headache pretty much daily and always in the afternoon. Never had headaches before the onset of peri-menopause. I brought up the headache issue with my NEW doc because of my change in insurance and he wants to be sure there isn't anything neurological going on. So I see neuro and have the CT and get prescribed Nortriptyline, which made me way to drowsy, so I get prescribed Topomax, which I question if it's working and if it really will given the migraines are hormonal?

Here is the main question. I am in the final week of the Nuvaring, days 21-28 and the migraine level is rising, it will continue to rise until I change the ring.