It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Multiple Sclerosis Message Board

• Lumbar Puncture :(

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 02-06-2007, 05:33 AM   #1
    Thes
    (female)

Thes HB User
    Question Lumbar Puncture :(

I have all the MS symptoms for 5 months, MRI scan are positive (5 lesions, 1 active), but the doctors won't give diagnosis untill I have a lumbar puncture.
    I tried to have one 4 months ago, but I fainted (first time in life, I was so scared). Please tell me did all of you had a LP. Is it painful, DANGEROUS?

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 02-06-2007, 08:23 AM   #2
    coretta
    (female)

coretta HB User
    Re: Lumbar Puncture :(

When I was diagnosed, I had to get a LP. The doc tried 3 times in the hospital room and it was not fun. However, they then had me scheduled to do it under X-Ray and it went easy as pie. Just be sure to drink caffeine afterwards, don't pick up anything, stay in bed for 24 hours. I had a spinal headache because I was feeling so good that I picked up my baby. Definitely not fun. Good luck. I will say that if I ever need another LP, I will only do it under x-ray.

Old 02-06-2007, 08:33 AM   #3
    Thes
    (female)

Thes HB User

thank you for your answer coretta,
    when you say x-ray you mean the machine they use when you break an arm or leg? or is it a special machine. Was the doctor in the x-ray room as well. Because from my experience they usually stay out.

Old 02-06-2007, 09:45 AM   #4
    coretta
    (female)

coretta HB User