It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Multiple Sclerosis Message Board

• Over 10 years of symptoms....not yet diagnosed!

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 09-27-2008, 11:13 PM   #1
    protrainer38
    (female)

protrainer38 HB User
    Over 10 years of symptoms....not yet diagnosed!

It's my first time on this board, and I can already see that there are plenty of folks here who can empathize with and offer me support.
    Just after my oldest son was born, almost 11 years ago, I started feeling sensations in my scalp that were tingly. I also started having episodes of dizziness while sitting in a chair with my newborn. At the time my gp and I wrote it off to post partum horomones.
    To make a long story short, over the years symptoms have accumulated and gotten more intense. I have been temporarily diagnosed with Meniers Disease, Benign Paroxismal Positional Vertigo, Episodic Ataxia and been told my symptoms were another manifestation of Migraine Headaches.
    Currently I suffer from the same intial head tingling, pressure and the 'sound of the ocean' in my head, lightheadedness, dizziness, weakness, heavy gait when walking, double vision, vision blackouts, arm and leg tremours, numbness in my hands, unbelievable extreme fatigue, itching, and the feeling of having all my nerve endings exposed at my skins surface. Most recently I have begun to stutter, struggle to recall words and have episodes of complete short term memory loss.
    I have had batteries of tests over the years, and I know my doctor looked for MS previously. I just finally went to him and 'gently demanded' that we look again. Given the descriptions of my newer symptoms, he was more than accommodating and explained that he really suspects that MS is the culprit and that it would just be a matter of time before the test results agree with us both.