It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Multiple Sclerosis Message Board

• Is cruising ok with MS?

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 07-24-2010, 04:22 AM   #1
    JodiH
    (female)

JodiH HB UserJodiH HB UserJodiH HB UserJodiH HB User
    Is cruising ok with MS?

I am new to MS and we are planning a cruise. I am wondering if anyone here has noticed any increased symptoms, outside of the heat impact, due to sea sickness, balance, vertigo etc?

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 07-24-2010, 04:46 AM   #2
    MSNik
    Senior Veteran
    (female)

MSNik HB UserMSNik HB UserMSNik HB UserMSNik HB UserMSNik HB UserMSNik HB UserMSNik HB UserMSNik HB UserMSNik HB UserMSNik HB UserMSNik HB User
    Re: Is cruising ok with MS?

Jodi,
    do you normally get seasick on a cruise? I have been known to. for me, cruising was the worst vacation we ever attempted with MS; only because I am prone to sea sickness and heat exhuastion and heat intolerance which have previously ruined any vacation where I cant be cool, or at least wet, all the time.

The cruise ship we went on did have swimming pools, but they are salt pools, filled with Ocean water, and they are very tiny..I couldnt cool down the way I normallly do, so I spent my entire time inside, in the a/c rooms...

When we go on vacation to resorts- which we do always in the winter months, we now go to all inclusive hotels. I spend my mornings on the beach or in the pool, my mid days in my room napping, and dont go outside again until after 3 pm when it cools down. Last march, in St Lucia, it was 101 degrees during the middle of the day....the only way to escape the heat was in my room...which fortunately had a wetbar and a jacuzzi tub big enough to swim in! Most people took nice hot relaxing jaccuzzis. I filled it with ice cold water and had a ball!
    Nikki

Old 07-24-2010, 06:01 AM   #3
    sodapopper
    (male)

sodapopper HB Usersodapopper HB Usersodapopper HB User