It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Multiple Sclerosis Message Board

Should I go through with the spinal tap?

Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-02-2011, 10:07 AM   #1
Nono88
(female)

Nono88 HB User
Should I go through with the spinal tap?

Hi!
I'm 22 and for the past 6 months have been experiencing consistant shakes in both hands and my co-ordination has taken a sudden drop (I'm a musician so unfortunately these things are huge to me). I have also been having bladder problems so my GP sent me to a neurologist who sent me for an MRI to test for MS.
I got the results of the MRI back today and it was clear, so the neurologist wants to have a spinal tap now but I'm not sure if I want to go through with it. Surely the MRI would have shown up if something was wrong, it was both of my head and c-spine. Now I feel like a drama queen who read too much into her symptoms and I'm afraid I'm wasting medical professionals time as well. My friend seems to think that I would be 'feeding my own hysteria' if I had a spinal tap done and now I'm very confused. It seems to be a rather huge step to take as a cautionary measure.
I suppose any other symptoms I have would be a weird sleepiness, dizzy sometimes, and extreme forgetfulness.
I really don't know what to do

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 03-02-2011, 11:10 AM   #2
MSJayhawk
Facilitator
(male)

MSJayhawk HB UserMSJayhawk HB UserMSJayhawk HB UserMSJayhawk HB UserMSJayhawk HB UserMSJayhawk HB UserMSJayhawk HB UserMSJayhawk HB UserMSJayhawk HB UserMSJayhawk HB UserMSJayhawk HB User
Re: Should I go through with the spinal tap?