It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Obsessive Compulsive Disorder (OCD) Message Board

• Obsession with deep breaths

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 03-02-2017, 04:58 PM   #1
    programmer21
    (female)

programmer21 HB User
    Obsession with deep breaths

I have shown signs of OCD in the past. I lately have this obsession with taking deep breaths. These deep breaths are like the max that my chest/throat/whatever can expand. I probably do it at least a couple of times per hour. But I have been doing it for probably a couple of months.

This is very hard to stop. I am worried because lately, I have been getting a very strange feeling in my throat (even if I have not just taken one of these breaths). It almost feels like a muscle spasm. I am also feeling a small amount of pain during these breaths.
    So my main question: has anyone experienced this or does anyone have an idea of what I could be doing to my throat? I feel like a throat contortionist.

Last edited by programmer21; 03-02-2017 at 04:59 PM.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 06-06-2017, 09:42 AM   #2
    Pollyanna1234
    (female)

Pollyanna1234 HB User
    Re: Obsession with deep breaths

Hello, I don't have your exact problem, but I can relate. My issue is with my teeth and the obsession over how my lips contact them when I smile and speak. Anyway, this obsession has intensified over the past four months and like you do with your breathing, I smile on purpose and try to recreate conditions that have bothered me in 'real life'. Anyway, I do it far more frequently than a couple of times an hour, unfortunately, but as the months have gone by, I have been experiencing more and more things in real life that I never experienced before (lips sticking to my teeth more, more noticeable sensations, dry mouth that cannot be relieved).