It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Open to All Other Health Topics Message Board

Disputing a lab bill

Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-20-2017, 12:08 PM   #1
arosado1970
(female)

arosado1970 HB User
Disputing a lab bill

Hello all,

This is my first time with this forum. I will try to make this brief. Recently, my daughter stepped on a sewing needle and it broke off in her left foot. It took us 2 weeks to discover this! LOL We went to local ER and was told that an orthopedic surgeon would have to remove it. A friend told us about another local practice to have the needle removed and we went there. The PA tried to remove it, however, was unsuccessful. While trying to inject my daughter with lidocaine, my daughter flinched and some of the lidocaine "squirted" out of her foot into the eye of the PA. We were asked if they could draw blood to have her tested because of the exposure. Now, understand that the PA who was "affected" didn't wear eye protection. We have now received a bill from the lab who did the analysis. Isn't there an OSHA guideline that states that they should be responsible for that lab in this type of incident because the lab draw was for the protection of the PA and wouldn't be required otherwise if she (the PA) had worn appropriate PPE? I was told by a family friend (who is a surgeon) that I could dispute it because of that alone and that it is common practice for any healthcare facility to "eat the costs" because they are required to do the blood tests according to OSHA. I just feel that we shouldn't have to pay for it if the PA had taken proper precautions.