It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Open to All Other Health Topics Message Board

• Where oh where can i find a surgeon to remove my hardware??

• Post New Thread   Reply Reply
    Old 02-16-2020, 06:18 PM   #1
    Zyx9010

Zyx9010 HB User
    Where oh where can i find a surgeon to remove my hardware??

Hi,

I was hit by a car a couple years ago and my surgeon in the ER told me he would remove my hardware after the bones healed. He repeated this to me several times at follow up visits to his clinic.

Unfortunately he moved and I can't get an appointment to see him anymore. I've seen two orthopedic surgeons and they both told me they wouldn't do it. What is up with that??

Im a furniture maker by trade, I just want my plate and screws removed. Is this such a hard thing to do? Why do I feel like I have to travel to far off places, searching for the fringes of society for a surgeon to remove this??

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 02-17-2020, 04:11 AM   #2
    Titchou
    Senior Veteran
    (female)

Titchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB User
    Re: Where oh where can i find a surgeon to remove my hardware??

Several questions:
    Why did he say he would remove it?
    Why won't the other 2 surgeons remove it?
    Why do you want it removed?
    Where is the hardware?

Old 02-17-2020, 06:29 AM   #3
    Zyx9010

Zyx9010 HB User

Where is the hardware?

I asked him if the plate and screws were permanent or not.

The surgeons I saw both told me they wouldn't do it. No explanation. They both worked at their own respective hospitals so it doesn't make sense. They were orthopedic surgeons. They seem totally lazy.