HealthBoards

HealthBoards (https://www.healthboards.com/boards/)
-   Open to All Other Health Topics (https://www.healthboards.com/boards/open-all-other-health-topics/)
-   -   Cannot lie "flat" on my back w/o pain (https://www.healthboards.com/boards/open-all-other-health-topics/118728-cannot-lie-flat-my-back-w-o-pain.html)

Merrida 02-18-2003 06:59 AM

Cannot lie "flat" on my back w/o pain

I posted this in the back area too, but more thoughts are occuring to me.

I cannot lie flat. Such as flat on the bed, no pillow. Or flat on the floor, no pillow. (I have a number of lumbar spine issues and those cause me pain, but aside from those, this is separate). I get pain/discomfort/pressure in my dorsal area, between my shoulder blades, and in my chest, my sternum area, even my throat. I feel loads of pressure in my face as if I'm being strung upside down rather than just lying flat.

So when I lie flat such as even at the dentists, I "feel" like I am too far back and get the sensation that all the blood is rushing up into my face and cheeks and jaws and throat, etc. Then I get a lot of anxiety because it's hard to breathe and I feel this pressure in my head and chest.

It is not anxiety per se (ie: related to dental anxiety) because I get it lying in my house, on the floor or bed. And, whether I am at the dentist, floor or bed and just put one pillow behind me, I'm fine.