It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Open to All Other Health Topics Message Board

• Oxicontin withdrawls

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 01-02-2006, 07:56 AM   #1
    mistic1967
    (female)

mistic1967 HB User
    Question Oxicontin withdrawls

Hello everyone! I am new to this message board and need alot of help and info. I have been using oxicontin for about 2 yrs now and have decided that I have had enough!
    I am wondering if anyone here knows what I should expect with the withdrawls and what can I do to minimize these afffects. I am scared to death! This is my 2nd day without and I'm starting to get cold sweats...is this normal? Also diareha. Any help and support would be greatly appreciated!
    Scared to death

Last edited by mistic1967; 01-02-2006 at 07:57 AM.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 01-02-2006, 08:45 AM   #2
    Misty800
    Senior Veteran
    (female)

Misty800 HB UserMisty800 HB UserMisty800 HB UserMisty800 HB UserMisty800 HB UserMisty800 HB UserMisty800 HB UserMisty800 HB UserMisty800 HB UserMisty800 HB UserMisty800 HB User
    Re: Oxicontin withdrawls

OxyContin is a slow release pain medication. To avoid feeling sick with withdrawal symptoms it should be gradually reduced. DO NOT BREAK, CHEW the pill, too much OxyContin will be released into your system. Ask your doctor to gradually reduce strength of OxyContin.

I weaned myself off of Librium a few years ago by lengthing the time between pills until I was 6-weeks between pills. This eliminated withdrawal symptoms. I had failed before even tho I was only on 5 mg. Took me a long time do wean off of it, doctors insisted I was not addicted, but, I was.

A reduced strength OxyContin over a period of time, keep reducing strength, will probably work for you.

I am not a medical professional, speak only from my personal experience.