It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Open to All Other Health Topics Message Board

• Help/Constant Coughing/Gagging

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 03-20-2007, 02:12 AM   #1
    FortWorthTexas
    (female)

FortWorthTexas HB User
    Help/Constant Coughing/Gagging

To make a long story short, I always feel like my throat is filled with mucus, My nose is not runny, or stopped up. I have to cough literally every 2 minutes or so and cough it out. I have been doing this for almost 3 years, I just recently got pregnant I am 13wks, and It has became worse! I can barely sleep bc when I lay down, I feel like I will choke, even when Im sitting up the stuff in the back of my throat gags me. Has anyone had this happen? What causes it? How can I get it to stop? Its very embarrassing, to other ppl its like I have a hairball in my throat!

A little back history, When I was 10, I had my tonsils and adnoids removed, So I dont know if maybe that has something to do with it???
    Also when I was 17-18, I got mixed up with a bad crowd and started doing meth, I only smoked it, and when I would it made me cough constantly. I know the chemicals in meth can burn your throat/lungs etc.
    Is it possible to have made a "dip" like a pocket in my throat that holds my mucus, from using the drugs, making me constantly cough?

Im trying to think of every possible cause, If you have any insight, please please respond, I am a completely different person now that this is going on.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 03-20-2007, 11:24 AM   #2
    KyWildOne
    (female)

KyWildOne HB User
    Re: Help/Constant Coughing/Gagging

I don't know if this will help much, but every little bit might.

I got a nasty cough like that about twice a year, that would last over a month. Sometimes I could cough something up, but most of the time I could not. I would get it around the same time everyone else would get the upper resp infections.