It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Orthopedic Message Board

• upcoming surgery

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 09-27-2013, 07:35 AM   #1
    tatterededge
    (female)

tatterededge HB User
    upcoming surgery

Hi! I am looking for some feedback about the surgery I am going to have soon.

I am having arthroscopic surgery to remove my pisiform and clean up any damage there and then either having my ulna shortened or the radius lengthened. (The surgeon will decide once he has a look.)

My question is, for those of you who have had this type of surgery using a nerve block, what was that like? I am REALLY concerned about being aware while they are cutting my bones and I don't tend to freeze well. I have had some traumatic surgery experiences because of this and would really prefer to have a general. I am planning to talk to the anethetist about it, but would like to hear from some of you who've been there.

What was your level of awareness during surgery? Did you feel any pain? How do they do the nerve block? Did the nerve block hurt? Would you do it if you had a do-over or would you have a general?

Thanks!

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 09-27-2013, 11:11 AM   #2
    marlin33
    (male)

marlin33 HB Usermarlin33 HB User
    Re: upcoming surgery

Quote:
    Originally Posted by tatterededge View Post
    Hi! I am looking for some feedback about the surgery I am going to have soon.

I am having arthroscopic surgery to remove my pisiform and clean up any damage there and then either having my ulna shortened or the radius lengthened. (The surgeon will decide once he has a look.)