It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Osteoporosis Message Board

• Dexa-scan results....depressing

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 04-21-2005, 06:43 AM   #1
    ThinBones
    (female)

ThinBones HB User
    Dexa-scan results....depressing

I had my dexa-scan last week and am not too happy with my scores. I have been doing yoga and weights for the past 8 months so I had am image of at least stable scores. What is ward's triangle? My hip has never been too bad, usually just shows mild to moderate osteopenia. The report says severe osteopenia in wards triangle. Also the tech that did my scan said that my L-4 vertebrae was much smaller than the others and my results show that my score at that point is -3.7 My back hurt after I read the report, I'm sure it was just in my head but that was depressing. I am on the brighter side, taking Forteo now (last 2 weeks) and I guess this reinforces my need for it. I am only 48 and I can see myself with barely a skeleton left by the time I am 70. Thanks for letting me vent, just so sure that my scores would be better for this scan..... Anyone else have these kind of results???

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 04-21-2005, 06:12 PM   #2
    taape
    Senior Veteran
    (female)

taape HB Usertaape HB User
    Re: Dexa-scan results....depressing

Thinbones -
    Sorry to hear that your DEXA scores weren't more encouraging. I think the Forteo will help alot as it has in most people I know who are using it. I've had slow improvement in bone density though I wish it was happen quicker. I had the same question about the Ward's Triangle after my last one. Apparently, it's another place to measure bone density but my doctor said that nobody really goes by that because it's always alot worse than the other readings. Someone will come along with a more medical description of it. Look for more improvement after your next DEXA.

Old 04-23-2005, 07:45 AM   #3
    spinewhine