It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Osteoporosis Message Board

• Actenol bad effects

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 08-05-2008, 10:48 AM   #1
    shamrock54
    (female)

shamrock54 HB User
    Unhappy Actenol bad effects

I am new to the group so let me introduce myself. I am a 66 y/0 retired nurse who is finding herself at the mercy of a lot of new drs. for a variety of disorders. I am currently under the care of an internist, GYN, surgeon and urologist. So I am always juggling instructions and making sure all know what the other is doing. I recently had a rather strange experience with Actonel. 5 weeks into Actonel therapy I developed severe left shoulder pain which left my shoulder even to tender to touch for about 24 hrs. I was advised by the GYN's office that this was not uncommon and was probably and isolated incident. Then this past week, 10 weeks into Actonel therapy, I developed a raging fever >103, terrible headache, and bone rattling chills. No nausea or vomiting but I did develop diarrhea over the last couple of days. It felt like the flu but not quite. The fever would subside during the day and then spike again late in the afternoon, accompanied by the chills. The headache was persistent throughout. When I notified the GYN's office, his nurse was not surprised and had him return my call. His reaction was to not take a dose for a couple of weeks and then rechallenge. I told him I would not do that again, Has anyone else experienced this misery? Thanks for being there.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 08-05-2008, 03:12 PM   #2
    rudiraven
    Senior Veteran
    (female)

rudiraven HB Userrudiraven HB Userrudiraven HB Userrudiraven HB Userrudiraven HB Userrudiraven HB Userrudiraven HB Userrudiraven HB Userrudiraven HB Userrudiraven HB Userrudiraven HB User
    Re: Actenol bad effects