It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Osteoporosis Message Board

• I have a curved upper back (Dowagers humpI think???)What do i do?

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 05-21-2003, 03:00 PM   #1
    muslimlady

muslimlady HB User
    Post I have a curved upper back (Dowagers humpI think???)What do i do?

hi, I am new to this, But i have had a hump on my lower neck( or you could say upper back) as long as i can remember. I am 29 years old. I remember having a boyfriend make a comment on it when I was 19 years old. and it is much bigger now. My daughter last night said something about it.( she is 8 years old) I wear my hair long because of this (so no one can see it)
    I have been bulimic sense 13 years old.( NO ONE and i mean NO ONE in my family knows this about me! and now i am thinking i may have dowagers hump. What do I do? How do i even begain to ask my doctor about this. What kind of test should i ask to run on me, or will the Doctor tell me?
    I know it has gotten bigger over my 20's....and i wounder if it will keep growing.....where do i even start?

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 05-22-2003, 04:52 AM   #2
    bjg
    Senior Veteran

bjg HB User
    i'm surprised that your dr has noticed the hump and also what must be your very low wieght from teh bulimia..i would look for another dr...make an appt and express all of my concerns to him/her...let the dr decide what tests you need..they will most likely suggest a bone density scan .

Old 05-22-2003, 02:29 PM   #3
    muslimlady

muslimlady HB User
    thanks for the reply, my Dr never noticed because i never went to one. Bulimic tend to avoid Dr's office's so no one dr ever noticed. and most bulimic are not low in wieght. research has shown most are adverage or weight more then adverage.....ao bulimic can be hidden if one wanted to hide it.