It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Pain Management Message Board

New to Pain management

Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-26-2017, 07:23 AM   #1
naomi5378
(female)

naomi5378 HB User
New to Pain management

Good morning! I am new to PM. I've been to one appointment and was prescribed 4 different meds to help with chronic pelvic pain. One of the medications was Nucynta 50mg. Wow! What a horrible experience I've had with this medication! I took 1 pill and was feeling so out of whack. I felt like was very drunk, agitated and a bit itchy. I took half a pill the next day and felt the exact same way again. I don't know how else to describe the drunk feeling...I've only been drunk 2x in my 39 years and those 2x turned me off to alcohol. I cannot take this stuff again. I called my PM clinic and told them I couldn't tolerate this medication and I was told by lady on phone I need to wait until my next appointment and then discuss with my doctor. Thats 2 weeks out. I had to wait 2 weeks just to get it filled to to pre-auth and miscommunication with pharmacy and PM. Is this normal? Or does it just depend on the clinic? Has anyone else taken Nucynta and had this side effect?

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 09-27-2017, 10:13 AM   #2
backhurtz
Senior Veteran
(female)

backhurtz HB Userbackhurtz HB Userbackhurtz HB Userbackhurtz HB Userbackhurtz HB Userbackhurtz HB Userbackhurtz HB Userbackhurtz HB Userbackhurtz HB Userbackhurtz HB Userbackhurtz HB User
Re: New to Pain management

Often times, there is a period of acclimation to a new medication, and unpleasant side effects diminish over time, as your body adjusts.