It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Pain Management Message Board

• Methadone Users: Advice Please?

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 11-13-2003, 05:29 PM   #1
    lindao1
    Veteran
    (female)

lindao1 HB User
    Methadone Users: Advice Please?

Hello everyone.

As some of you may know, after three years on Oxycontin I built up a hugh tolerance to it so the dr. tried me on the patch which didn't work, the morphine pump which I had complications, Avinza which didn't work and so today he has put me on Methadone. My dose is 10 mg four times per day.

I am completely ignorant when it comes to knowledge of the Methadone. The only thing I know is it is given to heroin addicts to ease their withdrawal. I have heard it is used for severe chronic pain but this is my first time of dealing with it.

Can someone please enlighten me about this med? How it works (if it works), pain levels achieved, side effects, do you have to adjust to it at first, usual dosages, etc. Any info that you can provide me with will be very much appreciated. It seems I remember several posters being on the Methadone and I would be grateful for any input.

Thanks so much for caring. Linda

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 11-13-2003, 11:24 PM   #2
    BadBackToo

BadBackToo HB User
    The very first thing I will say about the methadone vs the OxyContin is that you no longer will notice the clock watching for your next dose. the methadone keeps a more stable serum level. Also you won't get a "bang" from the methadone, if you currently get one from your OxyContin, which is a good thing, you don't need to become acustomed to clock watching and up and down oxycodone syndrome.