It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Pain Management Message Board

• Help with Mothers chronic pain-PLEASE

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 09-17-2005, 08:49 AM   #1
    Tammy Garber
    (female)

Tammy Garber HB User
    Help with Mothers chronic pain-PLEASE

I am asking or your advice. I am a nurse of 30 years trying to take care of my parents. My mother has been a prescription pain addict for 50 years. she has been rehabbed X3. She was completely clean for a number of years and then form osteoporosis began to have back problems. she has had several surgeries and has shrank from 5'8 to 5'2. Thie spring she had bilateral total knees and she has fibromyalgia.Because of her history she requires a ton of medication. She has been on a fentanyl patch, then to Kadian with IR Morphine for breakthrough pain and now she takes---240 mg oxycontin 3xs a day and about 70 mg Hydrocodone in 10 mg increments for break through pain. The problem is, she is still in pain. She never sleeps more than one hour at a time.I feel like there has to be a better way. She is 70 years old and otherwise healthy.Any ideas , I would greatly appreciate. Also does anyone know of a locking programable pill dispenser?

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 09-17-2005, 10:04 AM   #2
    mike j
    (male)

mike j HB User
    Re: Help with Mothers chronic pain-PLEASE

Tammy
    let me first say this I'm very proud of you for taking care of your folks.
    methadone is the first thing that comes to mind .I would talk to her doctor I assume she has a pain management Dr. as well.I would get both of them together and tell them your concerns.