It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Pain Management Message Board

• Compounded transdermal gels... how well do they work?

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 05-12-2006, 12:10 AM   #1
    freks1988
    (female)

freks1988 HB User
    Question Compounded transdermal gels... how well do they work?

Has anyone used a compounded transdermal gel (e.g. Ketoprofen, Ketamine, Lidocaine, Amitripyline, Baclofen) for their pain? How well do the transdermal gels work to reduce pain? How much reduction in pain did you get from using the transdermal gel? Are there any side effects? I'm not sure which medicine works best for bone/nerve pain.

The options available are:
    Ketoprofen 20%
    Ketoprofen 10% / Baclofen 10%
    Ketoprofen 10%, Ketamine 5%, Lidocaine 5%, Amitriptyline 2%

I have no experience with any of these meds and have never used a transdermal gel before.

Thanks for any information.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 05-12-2006, 11:06 AM   #2
    Kissa
    Senior Veteran
    (female)

Kissa HB UserKissa HB UserKissa HB UserKissa HB UserKissa HB User
    re: Compounded transdermal gels... how well do they work?

The only one I have personal experience with is the 5% Lidocaine in the form of the patch. You can of course obtain it in a true gel form but I've been told it's not as effective as the patch is because the patch is more of a controlled release if you will. Add to that you have to be very careful with the gels when putting them on. Be sure to wash your hands thoroughly afterwards. Also be aware some of them due cause stains in the clothing.

I've had great success with it in regards to muscle and nerve pain but not all individuals react the same. My doctor prescribes it different than what the mfg suggests so I do wear the patchs for longer periods than just 12 hours. 22 hours on, 2 hours off.