It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Pain Management Message Board

• anyone taking or know about Opana ER

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 04-07-2007, 06:41 PM   #1
    lexi99
    (female)

lexi99 HB User
    Question anyone taking or know about Opana ER

Hi I am new to this post and I have chronic back pain and my doctor had me on Norco (Hydrocodone 10mg/325mg) and it hasn't been working i think my body is immune to it . So my doctor just put me on Opana ER and I just wanted to know if anyone is taking it? or knows about it? and if so is it working? what are the side effects? I am a little nervous because the walgreens did not have it being it is a class II narcotic and says you can't drink alcohol or have anything with alcohol in it that you could OD. So wanted to know if anyone had any info on it.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 04-08-2007, 08:07 AM   #2
    Shoreline
    Senior Veteran
    (male)

Shoreline HB UserShoreline HB UserShoreline HB UserShoreline HB UserShoreline HB UserShoreline HB UserShoreline HB UserShoreline HB UserShoreline HB UserShoreline HB UserShoreline HB User
    Re: anyone taking or know about Opana ER

Hi Lexi, Opana, or oxymorphine is justt another opiate. All the pure opiates, OxyContin, MSContin, Kadian, Acvinza .Duragesic and meth are class 11. The class system is a drug agency way of rating potential for abuse and controls the way the drug should be prewscribed and treated. It's nothing scarry, just means more controls to prevent abuse and diversion. Things like no refills, no call ins, some states use triplicates and most states keep a data base of Class 11 scripts, who's prescrining them and who's taking them.

Avinza, the 24 hour morphine has the same warning about alcohol, etol breaks down the slow release mechanism of certain drugs at a higher rate and causes al the drug to be released turning a LA med into a short acting med.