It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Pain Management Message Board

• why can't you drink alcohol with vicoden

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 12-11-2008, 08:01 PM   #1
    georgann fohner

why can't you drink alcohol with vicoden

why can't you drink alcohol with vicoden

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 12-12-2008, 11:35 AM   #2
    momzworkin
    Senior Veteran
    (female)

momzworkin HB Usermomzworkin HB Usermomzworkin HB Usermomzworkin HB Usermomzworkin HB Usermomzworkin HB Usermomzworkin HB Usermomzworkin HB Usermomzworkin HB Usermomzworkin HB Usermomzworkin HB User
    Re: why can't you drink alcohol with vicoden

I am not an expert but I believe it creates and adverse affect and can really make problems for your liver. Ask your doctor.

Old 12-12-2008, 12:20 PM   #3
    Rrector
    Senior Veteran
    (male)

Rrector HB UserRrector HB User

It's not a good idea to drink alcohol with any narcotic medication, because the alcohol will potentate the effects of the med you are taking. In this case Hydrocodone, will have increased effect when combining alcohol with it. You could even OD when doing this, if the dose and the alcohol levels are high enough. To be sure, just don't do it!

Old 12-13-2008, 02:34 AM   #4
    Shoreline
    Senior Veteran
    (male)

Shoreline HB UserShoreline HB UserShoreline HB UserShoreline HB UserShoreline HB UserShoreline HB UserShoreline HB UserShoreline HB UserShoreline HB UserShoreline HB UserShoreline HB User

opiates cause respirtory supression, so does alcohol, when you combine the 2 you end up with twice the risk you could stop breathing, Both meds supress the part of the brain that keeps your body breathing. Instead of 1+1=2 you end up with a potentially lethal equation that looks like 1+1= 3,

***REMOVED***Dave

Last edited by M08; 12-14-2008 at 08:57 PM. Reason: Per posting rules, public figure discussions are disallowed.

Old 12-13-2008, 08:23 AM   #5