It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Pain Management Message Board

• Pain level scoring??

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 03-01-2009, 03:23 PM   #1
    robochick
    (female)

robochick HB User
    Pain level scoring??

hi, I've been attending a pain releif clinic for 10 years and never really been able to understand the pain level scoring thingie!!! I've never had anybody to ask and was too embarrassed to ask at the pain clinic, could any body please, please explain this too me?????? Also, how much is too much pain, what do you do when you have done everything to stop or manage your pain but it still persists!! my routine when my pain in extremly bad is, make sure am upto date with my buprenorphine patch, take extra pain killers , then I'll have a hot bath to try to relax my back muscles, then put my TENS machine on, then put my heat pad on, then I'll try my best to get as comfy as possible, try and control my breathing so I don't have a panic attack. What do other people do once they have done their pain releif routine?? I feel like am waiting for next christmas on boxing day, just sat or laid there waiting for the pain to subside!! Is there anything else that I can add to my routine for more pain releif??? Please Help xxxxxxxx

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 03-01-2009, 03:40 PM   #2
    pooby
    Senior Veteran
    (female)

pooby HB Userpooby HB Userpooby HB Userpooby HB Userpooby HB Userpooby HB User
    Re: Pain level scoring??

0 Pain Free No medication needed.
    1 Very minor annoyance - occasional minor twinges. No medication needed.
    2 Minor annoyance - occasional strong twinges. No medication needed.
    3 Annoying enough to be distracting. Mild painkillers are effective. (Aspirin, Ibuprofen.)
    4 Can be ignored if you are really involved in your work, but still distracting. Mild painkillers relieve pain for 3-4 hours.