It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Pain Management Message Board

• Percocet ~v~ Methadone

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 11-28-2013, 06:35 AM   #1
    AngelinPain
    (female)

AngelinPain HB User
    Question Percocet ~v~ Methadone

Hello,
    My first post so be sensitive please I am a 51 year old woman who spent 25+ years in the construction industry. Not in the office. I worked in the field pouring concrete and jack-hammering. For my efforts my spine is shot! My doc say"s degenerative disc disease with fermaral(sp?) stenosis. I have four herniated discs L4,L5,S1 and C4+5. I have now developed what he says is a nuralgia in my entire left flank from shoulder to hip. This nuralgia is a nerve that is not happy being obstructed somewhere in my spine. My doctor has me on 4/X a day 5/325 Oxycodone, Up to 90mgs of Cymbalta, and 200mg"s of Tegretol 3X a day and nothing is touching the pain! He is now suggesting Methadone!! And it scares the hell out of me!! I am of a generation that correlates Methadone with severe addiction! I don't want to develop an addiction to such a severe drug. I'm afraid that in the economic position this has put me in that my medical insurance will me yanked out from under me and I will be stuck with going through withdrawals and back to my severe pain with no recourse. My question is first, Is anyone taking Methadone at this time and can tell me how it makes you feel? Has anyone gone through the withdrawals of methadone? How horrible is it? Do you think I'll be on it forever? I'm no addict!! and I don't want my doctor making me one in an effort to live pain free. Any advice is greatly appreciated. Thank-You

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 11-28-2013, 09:42 AM   #2
    lenvegas
    Senior Veteran
    (male)