It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Pain Management Message Board

• Need pain management help/advice

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 02-01-2014, 02:20 AM   #1
    OutdoorMan
    (male)

OutdoorMan HB User
    Need pain management help/advice

Hey everyone and thanks for reading my post. Honestly I just hope there is some advice out there that will get me help I'm begging for.
    To start out this is my first post, I've gotten to the point I need help and this seems like a good place to start.

I'm 28 I've had chronic pain for the last 4 years. It's affected my life in many ways which is true for any chronic pain patient I'm guessing.
    I work as a Millwright and heavy equipment operator, and due to my pain I often loose or have to turn down work. My pain takes away from being able to do the things I love like hunting, fishing, hiking, and things like that. Sometimes I hurt so bad I can't even go to church, (I have faith but also go more now for the ore wedding stuff)

I'm also worried how my pain is interfering with my relationship with friends, family, and most important to me my new fiancée. Because more often then not I hurt to much to wanna go out and do stuff with them.
    (Sorry to give my intro on here)

My problem is getting help. I live in rural northern minnesota and can't seem to get help for pain. Despite my obvious pain I'm told by old doc I'm too young to be on pain meds for chronic pain because he says "I don't wanna be on them for my whole life." What the hell I would rather be on then and have managed pain then, off them and have no real life at all except misery.
    I recently switched doctors but don't even know how to start the pain management convo so I don't get shafted again.