It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Panic Disorders Message Board

• Start to Fall Asleep - Wake up in a Panic

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 04-04-2004, 04:57 PM   #1
    Melodyann

Melodyann HB User
    Question Start to Fall Asleep - Wake up in a Panic

I am new to this and I am having some strange things happen as I am falling asleep. This has been going on for several months and I am prone to panic attacks, asked my doctor if it could be panic and he said "how can you have a panic attack when you are asleep?" I also have restless legs syndrome which just adds to the sleeping problems. I read about Tonic Water under the RLS section and this may really work. If that takes care of the RLS I will just have the other problems to deal with. Was wondering if anyone has experienced these feelings.

Symptoms are: I start to fall asleep and I suddenly feel like the bed is shaking, and there is noone there with me at the time. I then notice my heart is beating fast and that feeling is thru my whole body, like my body is shaking or throbing with the beat of my heart. But as soon as I realize what is going on I am fine. I also sometimes awake with a start like I am tying to catch my breath. When this happens I notice my heart is beating fast but my breathing is ok. Sometimes when I awake like that the first thing that goes thru my head is "am I dying?". It is really a wierd experience, but everything seems to be fine once I am awake. This may happen once or twice, or several times. When this starts happening, it sometimes takes me a couple hours to go to sleep - and usually my legs start moving around too. I have this same sensation in my arms as in my legs and this just drives me nuts. I know I should get up but I think if I just lay here I will fall asleep. And, eventually I do. This doesn't happen EVERY night, but just about every night.