It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Parenting Issues Message Board

• Mother in Law holding my daughter to cry herself to sleep.

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 08-15-2010, 05:36 AM   #1
    dmaxwell564
    (female)

dmaxwell564 HB User
    Question Mother in Law holding my daughter to cry herself to sleep.

Hello all, i am new to these message boards, so forgive me if i do something wrong. I couldnt find answers anywhere on this so turning to you guys. I have a 16 month old daughter, she sleeps great (in her crib) she will sleep through the night she has always been like this. But when she goes to visit with my mother in law, "carrie", who does have a pack and play, but will refuse to use it. Carrie will bring her up for a nap everytime my daughter visits with her, but the issue im having with it is that Carrie refuses to use the pack and play to lay my daughter down and let her cry herself to sleep because my daughter does not sleep well if shes not in her own crib, instead she brings my daughter in her bed with her and holds my daughter down while my daughter screams the worst i have ever heard her scream untill she falls asleep that way.What i am asking is will this havee any long term affects on my daughter? Is this normal? i dont know of anyone else doing it and i honestly think its crazy. What she tells me is that she used to do it to my husband all the time, but i dont think it is normal. Please help!

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 08-15-2010, 06:03 AM   #2
    kdel
    Senior Veteran
    (female)

kdel HB Userkdel HB User
    Re: Mother in Law holding my daughter to cry herself to sleep.

What???? Am I reading this right? Your mil physically holds your baby down, pinned to the bed while she screams?? Why????

When my son was a baby he also only slept well in his own crib but-God help anyone who would have done this to him!