HealthBoards

HealthBoards (https://www.healthboards.com/boards/)
-   Polycystic Ovary Syndrome (PCOS) (https://www.healthboards.com/boards/polycystic-ovary-syndrome-pcos/)
-   -   PCOS with regular period and without elevated DHEA or Testosterone? (https://www.healthboards.com/boards/polycystic-ovary-syndrome-pcos/233694-pcos-regular-period-without-elevated-dhea-testosterone.html)

curlyroller 12-16-2004 10:06 AM

PCOS with regular period and without elevated DHEA or Testosterone?

hi. my name is rachel, i'm 29, and this is my first time here. i'm concerned about having PCOS, but not sure if i don't have some necessary symptoms.

i was diagnosed with hashimoto's disease in july 2004. as a part of the blood workup, they looked at my LSH, FSH, etc. everything came back "normal." here are the results:

testosterone, total: 15ng/dL (lab lists normal for premenopausal women as 15-70ng/dL)

% free testosterone: 2.24 (lab lists normal for premenopausal women as .05-1.8)

testosterone, free: 3.4 pg/mL (lab lists normal for premenopausal women as 1.0-8.5pg/mL)

DHEA S: 517 (lab lists normal as 62-615)

insulin: 13 (lab lists normal as less than 17)

FSH: 3.1 MIU/ML (lab lists normal by cycle phase. follicular phase 2.5-10.2, midcycle peak 1.6-18.8, luteal phase 1.5-9.1. first day of my last period was the 16th, and i had my blood drawn on the 19th. what phase would i have been in?)

LH: 1.9 MIU/ML (lab lists normal by cycle phase. follicular phase 1.9-12.5, midcycle peak 8.7-76.3, luteal phase < 16.9. first day of my last period was the 16th, and i had my blood drawn on the 19th. what phase would i have been in?)

prolactin: 6 NG/ML (lab lists normal for non-pregnant women as 3-30)

hemoglobin A1c: 5.4% Total HGB (lab lists normal for non-diabetics as < 6%)

my doctor and i are both concerned about that hemoglobin A1c. i am very overweight, and i am very concerned about insulin resistance being a problem.