HealthBoards

HealthBoards (https://www.healthboards.com/boards/)
-   Polycystic Ovary Syndrome (PCOS) (https://www.healthboards.com/boards/polycystic-ovary-syndrome-pcos/)
-   -   PCOS and Depo Provera (https://www.healthboards.com/boards/polycystic-ovary-syndrome-pcos/448778-pcos-depo-provera.html)

Staciarw 11-22-2006 08:53 AM

PCOS and Depo Provera

Hi, I am a newbie at this site. I was diagnosed with PCOS in 2000. I had my son in 1998 by csection. I had some complications and was told by my doctor that I should go on birth control so I do not get pregnant while I am healing. He started me on the Depo shot. Within three months I gained 50lbs, lost some of my hair, hair growing on face and abdomin, and no sex drive. I brought the attention to my doctor and he told me to deal with it. Needless to say, I went to another doctor. For two years I went with no answers. Finally, I said enough. I was on a war path. I went to many other doctors, and finally, after all the test a answer!!PCOS. I told this doctor that I felt that since I had no problems before the Depo shot. Has anyone received the shot before they were diagnosed? I know that PCOS is mostly a genetic disorder, but maybe the depo enhanced the PCOS.::dizzy:

emilycaitlin 11-22-2006 11:02 AM

Re: PCOS and Depo Provera

Hi there, first of all welcome :wave: . Good for you for dropping that doc who said just deal with it. Is your current dr a reproductive endocrinologist? If not you might consider visiting one, they are generally highly knowledgeable about pcos and it's treatment. Sorry I don't know anything about the depo shot, only that I've heard it can take alot time to conceive after going off of it, just something to talk over with your dr if you want more children in the future. Best of luck to you, em

barton93 11-26-2006 11:54 PM