It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) Message Board

• Ptsd?

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 03-27-2014, 09:43 AM   #1
    Firegirl12
    (female)

Firegirl12 HB User
    Ptsd?

I think I am losing my mind. I am a 37 year old female firefighter married to a firefighter. I have been doing this type of work for nearly 18 years. This morning, I got my 3 older kids off to school and came in and started reading the news. Long story short, I heard mayday calls from Boston's 9 alarm fire and I think I had a panic attack from there. I had problems hearing initially, everything sounded like it was far away. I was cold, chattering teeth shortly after, then I threw up. It has been a downhill spiral since. My husband thinks this is all related to a ceiling collapse I went through in November. He think PTSD is at play. But I really have never felt any anxiety over that after getting out. So I'm not sure. I don't know what to do but every minute is longer then the last and I feel fear that is making it hard to breathe. I don't know what to do.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 03-27-2014, 05:32 PM   #2
    sp898
    (male)

sp898 HB Usersp898 HB User
    Re: Ptsd?

First let me commend you on your duties. I'm not a firefighter but just trying to put myself in to your mindset I would think the constant mental alertness required for the last 18 years of your job could definitely cause some PTSD. You are put in survival mode more than you think. Throw that in with raising 3 kids and yea I can see where you would experience stress overload. You probably haven't felt relaxed in quite sometime. Trust your husbands observations. Maybe a good time to talk to someone.

Old 03-28-2014, 04:53 AM   #3
    Firegirl12
    (female)

Firegirl12 HB User

Where do I start? I don't know how to even begin.

Old 03-28-2014, 10:09 AM   #4
    sp898
    (male)