It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Rare Disorders Message Board

• Intercranial Hypertension

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 04-10-2003, 02:08 AM   #1
    tytorian

tytorian HB User
    Exclamation Intercranial Hypertension

Help!
    My daughter has been ill for sometime she is just 10 and it seems an on going battle to find out whats wrong with her - going from one thing to another saying she will be ok now.
    Her diagnosis at present is Asthma/IgG subclass deficiency(immune system)/Severe Migraine/nervous tummy/Growth Hormone defficient. Obviously she has medication for all of this and injections of growth hormone.
    Now the doctors have given her a lumber puncture and her BIH is high 32?. This could be a side effect of the growth hormone but maybe not. I really do not understand after all I am not a doctor they have reduced her dose of growth hormone and at present are hoping this does the trick. It is early days but I am having trouble finding out about this new condition so its Benign Intercranial Hypertension and all i seem to be able to find out is that the odds were 1 in 100,000 chance of it being this and how it normally occurs in obese women aged 20 - 40. Obviously none of that helps me at all, My daughter is slim and 10 years old.
    Can any one help?
    I have so many questions but when I see docters we are busy treating her and I don't want her to hear this.

[This message has been edited by tytorian (edited 04-12-2003).]

[This message has been edited by tytorian (edited 04-14-2003).]

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 09-18-2003, 02:13 PM   #2
    head1

head1 HB User