It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Relationship Health Message Board

• Trying to move on after emotional abuse

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 09-23-2008, 05:57 AM   #1
    jacritch
    (female)

jacritch HB User
    Trying to move on after emotional abuse

Hi,

I am new to this section. I am 47 years old and just got out of an emotionally abusive relationship. I was divorced six months ago. I was friends w/my boss and he would call me to see how I was doing. He was so much fun and I was so vulnerable. Well 10 months ago we started a relationship. I wasn't over my split from my husband of 20 years and he couldn't understand why I couldn't hate my ex and forget the past. He would check my phone and he wanted to spend every night w/me. He wanted to have sex a lot. I even would wake up w/him on top of me 4 times a night. He said it was because he loved me so much. I felt like I was being controlled and felt like I was being squeezed to death so I broke it off a few times. I did end up w/my husband a couple of those times and when my boyfriend and I got back together and he asked me if I had done anything I should tell him...I did tell him what I had done. Well he had a hard time trusting me........and he wouldn't let me go anywhere by myself. When I stayed home....he would call me and would want to chat on the computer all the time. My friends and family became non existence to me and I could not understand why he didn't have friends. Only friends he worked with.

I felt like I was on an emotional roller coaster and I turned to alcohol and drugs for six months. I felt that if I was under the influence I could deal w/his controlling ways. He did not drink or drug but bought me alcohol and a pipe.