It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Relationship Health Message Board

• BF Obsessed With World Ending

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 02-19-2012, 04:10 PM   #1
    Mistyedge
    (female)

Mistyedge HB User
    BF Obsessed With World Ending

About 4 months ago, my boyfriend of 6 years began to start obsessing over the world economy collapsing.
    I am a post-grad Counseling student and I am not even sure what triggered this obsession or how long this is going to last....etc.Please HELP!

Presently: Prior to him becoming obsessed about the world economy crashing, he became alarmed over the passage of SOPA and NDAA bills. He railed about how the government has basically become a police state. His theory is that the government is putting these laws in place because once the economy collapses, Fema will move in (they already have concentration camps in place) and then there will be martial law and take people's guns away, etc.
    He really believes this and not IF it will happen but WHEN. He is starting to grow his own food/refuses to go on vacations/has stopped riding his bike/and uses all his free time to visit certain websites.

Family history of mental illness: No familial history of schizophrenia, personality disorders,etc. Alzheimers's, Down's Syndrome, and Aspergers run in his family however and he has several relatives that currently have these diagnosis.

Medications: None. He smokes Marijuana daily and has done so for 20 some odd years. I have already thought about pot smoking for long periods and psychosis/paranoia....

Previously:When I met him, he was spontaneous, fun and liked to do things that a normal guy in their 40's would do:exercise, travel, etc. We never argued, we did fun things that two people in love and dating would do....He has never cheated on me and has always been faithful. Our sex life has always been great....