It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Self-injury Recovery Message Board

• I think I need help

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 03-18-2008, 08:01 PM   #1
    boomerpuff
    (female)

boomerpuff HB User
    I think I need help

My name is Kristin, and I've been cutting for about four years now. At first it started with pulling my hair out and banging my head against the wall, and then I just started with the cutting.

I don't have a very strong family background, and so I never received much comfort at home, and I never had friends at school, so cutting was the only way to help me cope. My parents knew I didn't like it at my old school, so they tranfered me to a private Catholic school, which I liked even less.

I didn't make any new friends there either, and I actually started meeting people who were cutting too, and so that sort of endorsed my cutting. Over the past few months, I fell into a relationship with this boy, and eventually he asked me about the scars on my arm. We were close and so I felt that I could trust him by telling him, but he just freaked out on me and then I tried explaining my family situation to him, but then he liked me even less. Which led me to cut myself even more.

I realized what harm this was doing to me, and so I went to a counselor at my school and told them about my problems at home and what I was doing, but they didn't really seem to care about the cutting so much as my family problems. I didn't tell them I had a history of suicide attempts, because another friends of mine had went there seeking help, and they just suspended her from school and put her in a mental institution.