It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Share Your Pain Management Story Message Board

• Pain story - just getting started

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 08-18-2013, 12:19 PM   #1
    Spinekid
    (male)

Spinekid HB User
    Smile Pain story - just getting started

Hey guys, new member and thought I'd post my story in an attempt to introduce myself relevantly to the forum. I'm a 19-year-old student living in NYC and have always had a number of different medical problems through my life.

I've suffered from depression and anxiety (as well as secondary problems such as insomnia) since I was 14, and due to the severity I started taking meds. I've been fortunate enough to be able to see some of the best doctors in my city, and have never found my treatment to be challenging - until my chronic pain became unbearable, that is.

In 2010, I was diagnosed with severe psoriasis, an autoimmune disorder that causes your skin to scale, peel, itch like hell, crack and bleed, etc. I tried every treatment option available but it continued to cover more and more of my skin surface to the point where it was about 70% of my skins surface area. As a result, I knew I had to go on biologic immunosuppressants, and was started on stelara. It cleared my skin incredibly well, although it clearly didnt solve all my autoimmune issues...

Around 18 months ago, I began to experience more frequent and severe pain episodes than usual. My other issues were under control, so I started to realize just how bad the pain could get as I began "reintegrating" myself into normal life after hiding out due to my disgusting skin. My lower back pain was severe to the point it made my heart rate and bp skyrocket at times, and in the months that followed, my joints in the knees, hips, and overall spine began to ache with stabs of pain more and more.