It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Sinus Problems Message Board

• Sick constantly, sinusitis flare ups every 2 months. Advice?

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 08-27-2016, 01:01 PM   #1
    4yrsinusitis
    (female)

4yrsinusitis HB User
    Sick constantly, sinusitis flare ups every 2 months. Advice?

This is my first time posting, so hey everyone. I'm not sure if I'm posting this in the right place.

I used to get acute sinus infections around once or twice a year. The rest of the year my sinuses generally felt completely clogged (chronic sinusitis, according to the doc and CT and MRI scans). I've had chronic sinusitis for 4 years, and I just want to get better. The pressure in my face got/gets worse when I bend over and in damp/ freezing weather. Unfortunately, it's damp almost year round where I live. Nothing would come out and I am tired of living constantly sick. I am tired in general.

After going for my first CT scan after a cold that went on for too long, it turned out that my septum was deviated slightly. The doctor didn't think it was a big problem at all, but I was offered a surgery to fix it. I didn't think that was necessary -at that time I hadn't tried any treatment at all. Allergy tests were/ are all negative so far.
    So I went home and tried a lot of home remedies;from the neti pot/salt rinses, breathing steam, and rinsing nose with various mixes (eg of hydrogen peroxide), to changing my diet and taking away milk, sugar. I also cycled went through the typical meds that the docs prescribed like Nasonex, Polydex, Avamys, etc, etc. Still, my face didn't feel better. We took out the carpet in our home, bought a humidifier... the place is not moldy and we have no pets. There is barely any carpeting and everything is kept clean. I workout a lot, I'm in good shape and otherwise completely healthy. My blood pressure is a tad bit low.