It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Sinus Problems Message Board

• balloon sinuplasty- insurance denied, claimed it is experimental

• Post New Thread   Reply Reply
    Old 05-29-2018, 01:39 PM   #1
    sickbadger8
    (female)

sickbadger8 HB User
    balloon sinuplasty- insurance denied, claimed it is experimental

Dear All,

My insurance has denied balloon sinuplasty and claimed it is experimental.

Would you mind letting me know what your experience is with your insurance? any info will be appreciated.

I am trying to write an appeal and a friend who had been through the same process for a cancer treatment said that the more I can proved that the procedure is approved routinely , either with the same insurance carrier or other major insurance carrier, will be really helpful. Please help me!

And by the way, I am a commercial pilot by profession, that makes me very reluctant for any unnecesarily invasive procedure. Apart from having the license, pilots are required to pass aviation physical exam every year. Surgery will create a red flag, and complications can be career ending. This is why I feel strongly about going for the balloon, as originally recommended by my ent, rather than a surgery that they would pay for.

Insurance would pay for Functional endoscopic surgery but not for balloon sinuplasty. The doctor said what need to be done to open up the maxillary can be done with the balloon which is wayyy less invasive.

Thanks in advance for your help

Last edited by Administrator; 05-29-2018 at 05:37 PM.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 05-30-2018, 08:37 AM   #2
    yayagirl
    Senior Veteran
    (female)

yayagirl HB Useryayagirl HB Useryayagirl HB Useryayagirl HB Useryayagirl HB Useryayagirl HB Useryayagirl HB Useryayagirl HB Useryayagirl HB Useryayagirl HB Useryayagirl HB User
    Re: balloon sinuplasty- insurance denied, claimed it is experimental

Dear sickbadger,