It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Sinus Problems Message Board

• Anyone Have Sinus Surgery?

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 11-05-2004, 09:07 PM   #1
    hoffta
    Inactive

hoffta HB User
    Anyone Have Sinus Surgery?

I was just wondering of those of you that have had sinus surgery....Do you always sound nasally like you have a cold? I think they took so much stuff out of my nose this time that I will always sound like this. It is a good thing I do not sing for a living...I would have lost my paying job.

I thought it was just me thinking I sound nasally, but someone asked me if I had a cold...What a drag! The ENT let me see the computer screen as he was scoping the nose after surgery and I swear it looks as though he cut a big hole in the inside of my nose on the one side.

If you have had revision sinus surgery, how often do you have to have these? This is my second surgery in three years. I put it off for one year, but was constantly sick and could not stand taking the steroids and antibiotics anymore.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 11-05-2004, 09:53 PM   #2
    GLSheridan
    Senior Veteran
    (female)

GLSheridan HB User
    Re: Anyone Have Sinus Surgery?

I had sinus surgery, including a polypectomy and reconstruction of my septum. I had the surgery in May, and this is the first fall in a couple of years that I could breathe and basically function. I sound A LOT better than I did prior to surgery.

What has your ENT said about your stuffy sound? How long ago did you have the surgery? Is the stuffy sound because of the surgery, or are you just being affected by your environment?

Ask your ENT about the "hole." You're paying him big money and he should be explaining EVERYTHING about the surgery. You need to determine what exactly happened...