HealthBoards

HealthBoards (https://www.healthboards.com/boards/)
-   Sinus Problems (https://www.healthboards.com/boards/sinus-problems/)
-   -   Long term sinus problems (https://www.healthboards.com/boards/sinus-problems/731672-long-term-sinus-problems.html)

Nadine7 01-18-2010 03:33 PM

Long term sinus problems... PLEASE help

Hi everyone,

I'm new to this, so a big hello! :wave:

Ok, so where to start. I am 20 year old female, from the uk.
January last year in 2009, was when I first got real sick with what I think was a bad virus. It was then I got my first sinus infection. I went to my doctor, and she said I had an infection, so I got a 7-day course of antibiotics. They worked brilliantly and I was better in a few days.
A few weeks passed and I noticed the same symptoms again: Bad fever, thick green mucus, feeling very unwell, headaches, severe facial pain etc.. So, I went back to my doctor again, and she gave me another course of antibiotics, but for 10 days and this cleared it up. Nearly 4 weeks passed again, and the symptoms came back! It really was unbelievable. But, each time symptoms came back, there were more mild. In the end, and even now as I write this, my symptoms are: mild facial pressure/pain, green mucous, mild headaches, fatigue, chronic postnasal drip.

So, this happened a further 9 times throughout last year, and it seemed I grew resistant to all the antibiotics they gave me. By September 2009, my doctor was absolutely lost and confused as to what on earth was happening. She said she had given me some strong antibiotics and it shouldn't keep happening again and again. So, I got referred to an ENT Consultant. He was really nice and asked me about all my symptoms, and had a quick look up my nose. He noticed the swelling in one side and said I might have Allergic Rhinitis. He ordered me a CT Scan and a skin Allergy test, as I thought I had bad allergies.