It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Sleep Disorders Message Board

• How long does sleep debt take to go away?

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 05-01-2004, 10:50 PM   #1
    ssublime1

ssublime1 HB User
    How long does sleep debt take to go away?

Here is my "story" if you will. I?m a 26 year old male with no known health problems. It all started around the last week of February. I have been working swing shift (3:30-11:30) for about 3 years now with occasional days and mids (1130-730) thrown in which never gave me problems aside from being a little tired on days. The problem started when I went to midshift around mid to late february. I was trying to get onto the schedule and so I stayed up until around 5:00a.m. on the first friday night before starting mids. I had a busy day and was up since around 9:30 or 10:00a.m. I went to the ocean at around 1a.m. to collect some food for my fish (which turned out to be in some pretty nasty water) and was home around 4a.m. I went to sleep at 5:00 after drinking a cup of hot tea with sugar in it. This is where the fun begins. I awoke about 45 minutes later in a state of total panic, I had no idea what was going on, I felt totally numb and my heart was pounding so fast I really thought I couldn't take it and my head felt like there was some sort of strange electric currents going through the back of it. After about 15 minutes or so after I got up and walked around trying to calm down I felt really cold and just layed in bed shivering for a while before I finally fell asleep.It was probably the single most frightening thing I've ever experienced. Does anyone know what this was or had a similar experience? Could it be due to the caffeine and sugar combined with alot of activity through the day throwing my blood sugar into a tailspin?