It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Sleep Disorders Message Board

• Long term sleep meds? Lunesta problems

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 07-19-2005, 05:25 PM   #1
    Bilbo
    Veteran
    (male)

Bilbo HB User
    Long term sleep meds? Lunesta problems

Hi y'all

Im new to this section of Health Boards but have spent a lot of time over at the Pain Management section. Im looking for information on long term sleep meds. I have used Ambien in the past, with great success, but as we all know, its a short term med.

I currently am taking 3mg Lunesta and it just doesnt agree with me. Im not sure if its just interactions with my other meds (Oxycontin, Norco, Klonopin and Cymbalta) or if it just isnt for me. It gives me headaches, hangovers and leaves me in a dark mood the next day. Guess in some regards thats better than not sleeping at all which is truely the alternative.

I have two issue working against me. Since I can remember I have been a "Night Owl". Doesnt matter what time I get up in the morning or how diligent I am in trying to establish a sleep pattern, when nightime comes, I wake up. In addition to that, I am in the middle of a very nasty battle with severe neck, upper back and shoulder pain. When I say severe I mean 7-8/10 on the pain scale. I am often woken up at night by severe pain and once awake there is no chance of me getting back to sleep.

So, does anyone have a magic bullet here in terms of a great sleep aid that can be taken long term without serious side effects? Perhaps a lower does Lunesta? Anyone had success with Ambien for long term use? Any other med? Believe me, I have tried every conservative practice to improve sleep performance.