It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Spinal Cord Disorders Message Board

• Recent ACDF C4-C7, but I still have the same pain

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 09-29-2016, 01:38 PM   #1
    motoman122
    (male)

motoman122 HB User
    Angry Recent ACDF C4-C7, but I still have the same pain

Hey everybody,

I had been putting off surgery for about 6 or 7 years and recently ( August 27th ) I had a fusion at the C4-C7 levels and still have 85-90% of my pain. originally the Dr. was going to do C3-C6 but changed his mind at the last minute and went the C4-C7 route.

Unfortunately, I still have roughly 85-90% of my pain. I have severe muscle pain in my neck, in fact the muscle on the back of my neck on the left side STAYS as tight as a Banjo string. I have muscles knotting up below my scapula and upper left shoulder region in general as well as muscle pain in my upper left arm. When everything gets knotted up, I still have radiating pain all the way down to my left wrist and still have some numbness in my thumb, my index finger and middle finger when everything gets knotted up.

At the C3-C4 level, the level he was originally going to work on, the MRI reads as follows:

Diffuse disc osteophyte complex and mild ligament flavum thickening. Mild compression of the cord. The canal is narrowed to 8.5 mm. Moderate right and moderate to severe left foraminal stenosis secondary to foraminal disc osteophyte, facet and uncovertebral joint hypertrophy.

I go back in to see my Surgeon next Friday, October 7th, and needless to say since my pain isn't significantly better after the C4-C7 fusion, I think he missed the level that was causing the most pain.