It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Spinal Cord Disorders Message Board

• Newbie with lots of questions!

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 05-31-2017, 05:41 AM   #1
    MADTH
    (male)

MADTH HB User
    Newbie with lots of questions!

Howdy. Mel from Mid-Michigan. I need some help/advice. I was an active healthy 70 year-old male. I have been fighting prostate cancer for 8 years but doing well with that.

On March 6, while vacationing in Ca., I fell hard onto concrete, leading with my head. Initially, I lost all feeling in my arms and legs. Within a day I regained some feeling, but very little utility. Turns out I had severe spinal stenosis, and I now have center spinal cord syndrome. (Incomplete injury). I spent 9 days at a hospital in La Jolla and then 6 weeks at an acute rehab facility in Century City. I was finally able to travel home a month ago.

But my improvement has greatly stalled. Spasticity has increased tremendously, really handicapping any more progress I am currently using a wheelchair – I also use a platform walker, but it is difficult going from sitting to standing, especially hard with my spasms. My hands continually feel like there is electric current through them. I have minimal use of my hands.

I am on garbapentum. I went from 600 mg. Per day to 900, to 1200 mg. I don’t think that is doing a thing. First query: Might an increased dosage help?