It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Spinal Cord Disorders Message Board

• Pain and spasms 4 years after surgery?

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 11-02-2017, 06:22 PM   #1
    johnnyq77
    (male)

johnnyq77 HB User
    Pain and spasms 4 years after surgery?

In 2013 I had a tumor removed from the middle of my spinal cord, which was severing 2 parts of my spinal cord apart. The doctors didn't know if I would walk again after the surgery. The surgery was mostly successful; I spent a month in the hospital learning to walk again. I graduated from a wheelchair to a walker, to a cane. I seem to have had chronic pain (mild to severe) to this day. Sometimes it feels like someone is shooting me with a taser where my incision scar is. I manage the pain and spasms with medication, but my wife doesn't think I should still be having these spasms and pain.
    Has anyone else experienced pain and spasms years after your surgery?

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 11-02-2017, 10:08 PM   #2
    teteri66
    Senior Veteran
    (female)

teteri66 HB Userteteri66 HB Userteteri66 HB Userteteri66 HB Userteteri66 HB Userteteri66 HB Userteteri66 HB Userteteri66 HB Userteteri66 HB Userteteri66 HB Userteteri66 HB User
    Re: Pain and spasms 4 years after surgery?

Have you had any further visits with the surgeon? A new MRI?

I suspect that there is some permanent nerve damage that at least contributes to your symptoms.

Does anything like massage therapy or acupuncture help?

Old 11-03-2017, 05:45 AM   #3
    johnnyq77
    (male)

johnnyq77 HB User