It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Spinal Cord Disorders Message Board

• Info on anterior cervical vertebrectomy and strut graft???

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 09-06-2005, 11:31 AM   #1
    Femalepross
    (female)

Femalepross HB User
    Question Info on anterior cervical vertebrectomy and strut graft???

Hi - I am new to this but maybe someone out there has had this procedure. My doctor wants to do an anterior cervical vertebrectomy and strut graft and my major concern is life after this surgery. He wanted to do this 2 years ago when an MRI showed spinal compression. I am also confused as to what symptoms I am having and if they are indeed related to this. The C5 is what he needs to work on but I can't figure out if the pain in between my shoulder blades is related to this or if I may just have arthritis in this area. Also, I have weakness in my right hand that has gotten worse over the past 5 years or so but recently have notice weakness in my left arm and hand as well. Can anyone offer some insight into this procedure and what post-op might be like? Thank you.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 09-07-2005, 05:25 AM   #2
    rgsmoose
    (male)

rgsmoose HB User
    Re: Info on anterior cervical vertebrectomy and strut graft???

A vertebrectomy is also called a corpectomy, or an ACDCF (anterior cervical diskectomy, corpectomy and fusion). You may have heard of ACDF, which is the same thing without the corpectomy. The surgery is much like the ACDF where the two disks above and below the affected vertebra are removed. Then the main body of the vertebra is removed and the space is filled with a strut graft - a long piece of bone. This is then covered with a titanium plate attached with a handful of screws.